Anime Expo 2010: Saturday (July 3) Meet-Up

There is a Friday meet-up for bloggers/Twitter folk/anime fans/whoever else planned by Deb Aoki, and I thought about hitting it up, myself (though it would involve a bit of juggling for me since I can attend just one day and planned on Saturday being it). Luckily for my selfish self, however, omo expressed some concern with how much stuff there is to do Friday, while CCY wondered how ginormous the whole affair would be.

With that in mind, CCY has started planning a smaller get-together for everyone on Saturday, and I wanted to help out by providing a concrete post to organize the planning, seeing as there are but a few precious days remaining until Anime Expo kicks off.

Obviously the big hurdle is working around everyone’s schedules. CCY originally suggested a late lunch/early dinner affair (sounds swanky, right?), and this works out well enough for me. I’m planning on attending the Toradora! premiere + panel, the premiere of the Black Lagoon OVA and then I’ll haul ass to the exhibit hall and pray to whatever deity I need that I’ll get there in time to take advantage of the Yui Horie + Eri Kitamura autograph session. So I’m booked from 10 a.m. to 1:30 p.m.-ish. (I guess it depends on how hopeless the autograph line looks. :p) I am thinking about dropping in on the live ANNCast at 5:30 p.m., as well, but that’s it for me as far as solid plans go.

Anything after 1:30 p.m. works fine for me. The time between 2 and 4 p.m. seems ideal; to my admittedly biased eye, there does not seem to be too much of interest going on aside from the Katsuyuki Konishi panel. I like the guy, but I wouldn’t really be sad about missing that to meet up with some good people. I bring up 4 p.m. as an ending point because that is when the Trigun movie is playing. Not planning on seeing it, myself; however, I assume there are people who want to catch it. But if someone can make a solid case for a different timeframe, then I am all ears — as I wrote earlier, anything after 1:30 p.m. works fine for me.

The other hurdle, of course, is an actual place to meet up. I read that a blogger meet-up last year took place at California Pizza Kitchen. Didn’t go to that, myself, but to anyone who did, how was it? Good location to meet? My only potential issue with a place like that is that it’s a bit far for a walk (bit less than 20 minutes, according to Google Maps), although the Metro Blue Line (801) has a stop at a reasonably close area. (And the (910) Silver Line would take you back to the convention center.) I’m hitching a ride to AX, so I don’t have access to a car whenever I please; if we can agree on a place within a relatively short walking distance of the convention center (I’m thinking about 5-10 minutes at most), that would be ideal.

AX has a solid list of establishments within a mile-long radius of the convention center. Anything works for me; I’m not a picky eater. What better time to be adventurous than when you’re meeting new people, right? If a certain place sticks out to anyone, then speak up — don’t be shy! I’m also wondering whether it would be better to meet up directly at whatever eatery we choose, or to meet up in the gathering area just outside the entrance of the convention center and go on from there. I am partial to the latter option, myself; would be fun to shoot the shit with everyone on the way to the meet-up restaurant. Although maybe we’d have to designate a definite area for everyone to meet up so that we recognize each other . . . unless we all provide pictures, haha. What does everyone else think?

As for the duration of the meet-up . . . eh, I believe everyone should hang out together as long as they please. If someone wants to stop by for a few quick hellos and continue their schedule, then good for ‘em. If someone wants to hang out for an hour or two, that’s cool as well. For me, all that is important is to know exactly when the meet-up is to begin. An ending isn’t too important; we can pretend the meet-up will go on forever. :p (Though I have a few other friends I want to hang out with during the convention, so I won’t hang around for eternity, haha.)

Whew, I think that covers all the details! If anyone has questions/issues to bring up, then comment away. Anyone who wants to meet up, chip in with your thoughts on the best time and place for all these good times. Hopefully we can knock these plans out without too much trouble.

Hope to see everyone at AX!

EDIT: The L.A. Convention Center’s website lists Starbucks in the West and South halls of the convention center. Either one sounds like a fine meet-up place to me. I’m thinking the West Hall location would be a bit better, since it will probably be a bit less crowded (South Hall is where the exhibit hall will be). Any objections?

24 Responses to “Anime Expo 2010: Saturday (July 3) Meet-Up”

  1. Good to see someone taking initiative :)

    I might suggest a location to meet up (maybe at a starbucks or a bar) then head out to dinner after a while. And get people to RSVP so you can get an idea of how many people are coming.

    • Meeting up at Starbucks and heading out from there seems like a good idea. AX’s website lists a Starbucks right at the convention site . . . can’t remember if there’s one inside, or I’m just not seeing it on Google Maps (Starbucks isn’t a regular destination for me lol).

      • I should have some time Saturday maybe around 5pm-ish. I don’t know for sure yet, but I think so. That’s usually my dinner time anyway so I wouldn’t mind meeting up at the Starbucks and heading to an eating place from there. Just have to be done a little before 6:30pm because I have somewhere else to go. I might try to go to the Friday one too.

        Hope we can all work something out =)

        • As long as nobody cares about missing the Trigun flick, 5 p.m. is fine by me.

          • Hm Starbucks at 5 sounds good ^^. I’m pretty sure I can make that since Saturday seems fairly mellow for the most part. I’ll probably end up taking Saturday to wander around the Artist Alley anyway.

  2. Oh you Americans and your seeminly endless barrage of conventions

  3. meet-up = pics, rite ?

  4. Saturday is when my schedule is least impacted, so yeah, totally down for this!

  5. I’ll be there. Friday seems pretty jam packed indeed, so Saturday’s looking good.

  6. Aww poop! I was just out in LA too!

  7. This sounds like fun. Count me in!

  8. So it’s looking like 5pm at the West Hall Starbucks then? I’ve mentioned it to a couple other bloggers I know too. Unfortunately I have to be somewhere at 6:30 so I’m hoping wherever we eat out isn’t too far from the LACC.

    • Cool. I’ll make another post tomorrow so that we can solidify our plans further. I’m hoping we can choose a place to eat before the convention actually begins. :p

  9. […] UNMEI KAIHEN « Anime Expo 2010: Saturday (July 3) Meet-Up […]

  10. […] meeting W-General again is awesome, brofist to Mrvacbob, Misuzu, Canon2D, Animediet dudes, and the rest of these guys. Another round of :brofist: to Jabel and co., Chun "Tsugumi Ever 17 goes Chami," Momoists Paranda […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 50 other followers

