Shiki 12 – So Much Yaoi Bait

Like Tohru with blood, my Shiki withdrawal was reaching its limit during the past three weeks. But unlike Natsuno, I cannot make any sort of fujoshi-pleasing blood offering to a TV series; this paltry blog entry is the best I can do. Sorry.

Anyway, uh, Natsuno? Damn, did he ever give up easily. What a softie. Perhaps once he saw his bestest friend in the whole wide world come back as a vampire and be used as a weapon against him, Yuuki resigned himself to the futility of fighting against the Risen and decided to help keep his friend alive in the slashiest way possible. (Not that there’s anything wrong with that.) Physically, I get why he’s not fighting; he comments that the anemia as a result of getting his blood sucked hits him harder than he thought it would. Yuuki is in no condition to do battle with bloodsucking beasts.

Mentally, though . . . jeez, I guess that attack really took it out of him. Yuuki was all ready to fuck some shit up, and then Tohru shows up and blows everything. Sad. Seems as if he’ll become a vampire sooner rather than later (unless he just straight up dies; what a twist that would be!), so maybe he’ll feel a bit different once his strength returns to him. Or maybe he’ll just go all Tohru on everyone and suck blood left and right. Who knows.

I wonder if Yuuki’s dad will become a higher-profile character soon. Clearly his son is going to bite it (lol), and afterward he’ll feel like a shithead for not listening to those dumbass hicks crowing about vampires. Eat that shit, you Ivy League east coast pinko liberal hippie!!!!! Yeah!!!!! Seriously, though, I’d probably be soured on little kids forever, too, if the last child to visit my house was that fucking ventriloquist girl. She is the chihuahua of children — I just feel a relentless desire to punt her to the moon.

Anyway, I thought the scene where he was clearly humoring the Tanaka kids just to get them out of his hair was hilarious. Those two give up almost as easily as Yuuki. What, they couldn’t have decided to stake out (lol) Yuuki’s place in secret just in case? (Though, to be fair, they may of course decide to do that anyway later at night and then arrive to late because Tohru is already there waiting to suck Yuuki’s blood.) If they’re that adamant about protecting Yuuki, you’d think they would try to keep the guy as safe as possible.

Then again, dumbassery seems to run in the family, as evidenced by the inexplicable scene where the Tanaka father says hello to Megumi and then walks a few feet before remembering that, oh yeah, she’s fucking dead. WHAT? I love Shiki, but that’s just stupid. It’s not as if Megumi was some nobody girl he never knew; she was his daughter’s best friend, and he clearly knew who she was, seeing as he, you know, greeted her and all. You don’t just completely forget that someone dies a while after the fact. Terrible.

And I guess this scene puts to rest any stray theories that one or more of the Kirishiki family might not have anything to do with this. They clearly all know what is going on, and while it appears that they are as reluctant to become bloodthirsty monsters as anyone, they’re doing it, anyway, because they know it’s something you cannot fight. I’m still curious about Seishirou’s role, though . . . is he a vampire, or isn’t he? Is he drinking blood or simply good ol’ wine? Will he ever release the hounds? And so on.

6 Responses to “Shiki 12 – So Much Yaoi Bait”

  1. Heinsia Says:

    Megumi died in summer and it’s October in anime so it was a few months not a few days. Not to say he was so concerned about his co-workers that I think it’s normal for him to take a moment to remember about her death. And geez, don’t be so harsh on those kids, they are probably so relieved that they don’t have to sneak out of the house in the middle of night to fight some scary vampires.

    Btw you’re watching Kuragehime, aren’t you? Blog it /o/ That is the best show this season (imo).

    • Ah, yeah, that’s right. I’m probably secretly a Tanaka too. I guess I can go easier on the kids, but the father thing is still too much of a stretch for me, even taking into account his focus on his co-workers.

      I’m planning on watching Kuragehime tomorrow, because I’m mostly sure I will be blogging it (especially with the buzz about its first episode being so good), and I’d rather spread out my posts evenly.

  2. adaywithoutme Says:

    I’m going to echo a defense of the kids – come on, like you’d really go out and chill in the woods when vampires are running around town killing everyone if someone promised to watch over your friend? I certainly wouldn’t. I might be a bit suspicious of papa Natsuno’s rapid turn-around, but I’d still probably convince myself that I had nothing to worry about.

    As for Tanaka – he’s at the end of a day of work and was deep in thought about his weird co-workers and worrying about his town’s population problem, so him not processing Megumi initially is completely believable.

    • Haha, all right, I got it — was too harsh on the kids. Sometimes I forget my place as a member of the audience.

      While Tanaka’s behavior might have been believable, I still think the scene game off a bit too goofy. Maybe it’s done to make Megumi more sinister, but it just seemed silly to me.

      That said, I did like his weird co-workers. I guess I enjoy vampires in suits.

      • adaywithoutme Says:

        Yeah, they probably could’ve handled it better. I think it took a few seconds too long for Tanaka to have his “Holy shit!” moment, and that their dialogue just went on a touch too long. It’d be more believable if she’d said hello, he’d said hello, and then he’d been like, “Wait a minute… oh fuck”. Ah well.

  3. clinton Says:

    i think Natsauo did die for good in the original light novel

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

