Crest of the Stars – Jinto’s Sarcasm Is the Best Sarcasm

I finished Crest of the Stars a little more than a week ago and enjoyed it for the most part. The plot moves a bit slowly at times, but I don’t mind the pacing much since it does a solid job of easing the viewer into a relatively complex world with a complex history. The show probably makes up for that by throwing Lafiel and Jinto into one crazy situation after another during the journey to warn the Abh Empire that war’s a’brewin’.

Anyway, like many people, the part of Crest I like most is the interplay between Lafiel and Jinto. They’re both intelligent people, and they act and speak it. They speak to each other with wit and grace, and aren’t dumbing down their conversations so that the widest possible audience can grasp what they’re saying. Crest of the Stars knows its audience.

I won’t write much about Lafiel, because from what I am aware of, she gets plenty of (much deserved) love, but I do like that her development in Crest begins with the assumption that she is a strong, smart woman who can take care of herself. It’s just that she’s young and headstrong, so she goes into everything thinking that she’s got to take care of shit all on her lonesome. It’s not until the very end that she truly sees Jinto as an equal. She learns that it’s OK for her to lean on him for some things, and for him to lean on her for other things. People help each other with shit; Lafiel doesn’t need to go into melodramatic self-sacrifice mode because she has a perfectly capable dude at her side to have her back when she needs help. Crest definitely impressed me by presenting a real relationship where the man and woman complement each other and help each other not because, you know, Man Gotta Be A Man, but because they trust one another and their strengths to the point where they can accept that help without bitching on about wounded pride.

So, the actual reason I was going to write: I ended up liking Jinto a lot more than I thought I would. He initially comes off like one of those wussy little douchebags that nobody likes in anime, but who are like 90 percent of the main male characters, anyway, but he’s deceptively tough in how he deals with and adapts to the various terrible situations in which he and Lafiel find themselves. It’s definitely Jinto’s wit that both keeps him sane and that truly endeared him to me. I’d honestly say that he might be the finest practitioner of sarcasm I have seen in anime, and here’s why: He’s unbelievably subtle with it. Jinto’s tone of voice, his choice of when to interject, his hilarious use of irony . . . I want to say his phrasing, too, but I’d be going off the subtitles and not the actual Japanese (since, you know, I’m ignorant and all), so I have zero confidence in that assertion. However, if the subs I read were more or less accurate, then his phrasing is also hilarious.

Sarcasm is semi-rare in anime, and when it’s used, it tends to be of the over-the-top, “I am saying this so that you know how much of a fucking idiot you are” variety, which is of course fine. I think it’s funny, but it can also be obnoxious. Jinto, however, is quite deadpan with his use of sarcasm; actually, when he’s being sarcastic, it’s usually in his normal tone of voice, except when you hear/read what he’s saying, it’s got a weary, “GOD, this is fucked up!” tone to it. He and Lafiel would be cruising along, and they’d run into some trouble, and then you could rely on Jinto to be like, “You know, when I was a little kid, I never really saw myself dying out in the middle of space where nobody could find me, and all in all, it would be pretty swell if that didn’t happen”. Which would then be followed with me snickering uncontrollably.

What makes the sarcasm really work for me is not just that it’s funny, but also that it’s organic. It’s not Jinto trying to make himself seem cooler than other people; it’s simply his way of dealing with deadly, stressful situations. He’s keeping himself under control and trying to reassure those around him, relieve the tension a bit. We normally think of sarcasm as being somewhat destructive (since that is how I think it is most often used), but Jinto’s is a weird sort of positive sarcasm — decrying the situation around him while also giving a bit of ironic strength and hope to his companions.

I can roll with that. Jinto, you are a cool dude.

13 Responses to “Crest of the Stars – Jinto’s Sarcasm Is the Best Sarcasm”

  1. Hogart Says:

    Anime loves the deadpan snarker. But Jinto’s got a pair, so he can afford to be virtually snarkless. My opinion of him only continued to improve, especially (of course) after season two of Banner of the Stars.

    It’s also nice that he actually knows where he stands with Lafiel and doesn’t have to think about it or push any issues. You can actually believe that Lafiel would fall for him without words or emotions needing to be expressed.

    • Lafiel and Jinto’s interactions really sold me on their relationship — I could actually buy that they would fall for each other rather than them being set up as The Ones For Each Other by the plot.

      Definitely looking forward to Banner of the Stars. I’ll get to those three seasons soon, but right now I’m still working through some terribad anime. Good times!

  2. This is one of my favorite franchises, and LafielXJinto is probably my favorite couple of all. You’re right, Lafiel gets heaps of (deserved) praise, which can overshadow Jinto. As much as I enjoy Crest, my favorite part of the franchise is Banner I, so don’t wait too long, because you just got to the start of the great stuff.

    • Awesome. I liked Crest quite a bit, but I also got the feeling that everything would get much stronger with the later iterations. Looking forward to it!

  3. Crest is more character focused than what one expects from space opera, but rather than ‘slow’, I’d call Crest ‘unhurried’. I recently learned it condenses 3 novels worth of plot into 13 episodes. In contrast, the Banners adaptations cover only 1 novel each. Yet somehow Crest does a good job of paring down the most essential details and developing the cast and universe as well as it does.

    Jinto is unique in that he doesn’t have any distinguishing talents, like having superpowers or piloting a mech, nor is he defined by his noble “heritage”. Yet because of his humble personality, subdued wit, and humanizing perspective to the events that occur around him, he still more than earns his keep as a character in the series. The expectations of Lafiel are set in stone from the beginning, but it’s nice to see Jinto grow throughout Banners into the responsibilities fate thrust upon him.

    Anyway, have fun watching the rest of the series!

    • Unhurried is a good word. It’s definitely not as “big” as some other space opera series I’ve seen, but I still enjoyed what was there. Hearing that it was adapted from three novels isn’t surprising, though — the show does a good job, but you can tell there are points where there’s some skimming going on. Not too bad, though.

      Yeah, that really connected me with Jinto. He feels really human in how he endures the stressful events around him. If I were in his shoes, I’d probably react the same way, though I don’t know if I’d be as hardy as Jinto, haha.

    • “Jinto is unique in that he doesn’t have any distinguishing talents, like having superpowers or piloting a mech”

      Excellent point. He’s on his way to study to become a supply officer, an important role in the real world, but hardly glamorous, and not a position suited to showing how over-powered the hero is. His humility comes across in the part in Crest when the guns are handed out. He doesn’t cry; he doesn’t brag; he honestly acknowledges his lack of weapons training.

  4. Jinto is the man, and you know it because Lafiel likes him… and you know she won’t suffer fools.

    Banner II is my favorite, but everything is wonderful.

  5. auuuuuuugh I have to get around to watching this. It’s been sitting on my hard drive since bakaBT was known as BoxTorrents.

    • “auuuuuuugh I have to get around to watching this for seven episodes and then putting off the ending for half a year.”

      fixed lol j/k big guy

      (Seriously, though, it’s a good show. Right in your wheelhouse, I think.)

  6. Jinto really is great, and ghostlightning has a point: you can trust Lafiel there.

    I think you nailed the appeal of his witty dialog (witty dialog is one of the biggest selling points of Crest/Banner for me); he’s not puffing himself up, he uses sarcasm as a defense mechanism when the shit really hits the fan. Which it often does. He may not be tough as nails, but he’s one of the few brainiacs in all of anime and he can think his way out of tough situations.

    His diplomatic ways of dealing with people come in sharp contrast to Lafiel’s headstrong barrel-on-through methods, but as the franchise progresses, they learn these and other skills from each other. It’s another huge selling point, the fact that Crest/Banner will reward you for sticking with these guys.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 50 other followers

