No. 6 3 – Impromptu Surgery

Any image of surgery is certain to get a cringe out of me. Not quite as bad as that episode of Shiki, but still fairly squicky to watch. I hope Nezumi didn’t have to cut too deep, or else that would have been really painful for Shion . . .

I found many of Nezumi’s thoughts on No. 6 to be interesting, particularly when he talks about how No. 6 only takes in those who pledge total obedience and shows no tolerance for deviants. His tone struck me as viewing No. 6 as a unique city in the world — perhaps that No. 6 is the only totalitarian state among the remaining six, and that the five remaining nonetheless deal with it because they can’t afford not to? Or maybe it’s just that Nezumi has experience solely with No. 6; I doubt he’s had the opportunity to venture to any of the other cities on the map.

Don’t really think we’ll find out too much about this (unless there’s some streamlined way to introduce this information); just something interesting to think about. Curiosity about whether No. 6 is the only dystopian game in town, or if everyone else has joined the party. I also wonder if there is any significance to No. 6 being the newest of the six cities created in the aftermath of whatever disaster befell the world . . . (Or, perhaps, BEEfell the world? Yuk yuk yuk.)

And then there are Nezumi’s comments about the disease spreading through No. 6 right now. I’m not totally sure whether it’s a man-made disease, or if it’s something natural targeting a specific group of people. The obvious assumption to make is that it is man-made, since, you know, dystopian governments are assholes like that. What use they would have for a disease that slowly kills people and hatches bees from their necks is beyond me (seems rather impractical as a biological weapon), but hey, these types of people have wasted their time in stranger ways.

Beyond the impractical nature of such a disease, however, the choice of test subject also strikes me as odd. Wouldn’t they test the effects of this disease on the societal outcasts rather than those chosen to stay in the city? Then again, we really have no indication that they aren’t doing that, and the disease escaped from whatever crappy, pristine laboratory they kept this crap in. So, yeah, not quite enough information to make any sort of judgment yet. This is just me filling space with idle thoughts. La la la.

A good ol’ allusion to round things out! The basic thrust of the story — a statue that oversees a city uses its jewels to aid the downtrodden people of a city, but is melted at the end when those who created it no longer believe it serves its purpose as an object of beauty — mirrors Shion’s desire to help the citizens of No. 6 by creating a vaccine from his blood. He could help people, but ultimately, Shion would be torn down by the corrupt city, from Nezumi’s point of view, which he implies with his “a story of hypocrisy and complacency for people who don’t know true tragedy” comment at the beginning of the episode, and more directly at the end of the episode.

Nezumi’s ultimate point is that Shion would be using a Band-Aid to heal a rotten core — that there are deeper problems with No. 6, and that the citizens may be fucked regardless of the disease. Is it still not worth helping people, though? In Nezumi’s eyes, knowing the truth behind No. 6 makes the endeavor not worthwhile. I’m a bit unsure as to whether Nezumi is really saying that there are deeper problems with No. 6 aside from the “we are a big, scary dystopia rawr” thing, but that seems to be what he is implying. What could possibly be worse than that? Hopefully this isn’t something that gets delayed for a ridiculous amount of time. The show’s pacing has been fairly brisk so far, though, so I’m optimistic.

7 Responses to “No. 6 3 – Impromptu Surgery”

  1. I was first thinking that the bees were controlled by the dystopian authorities to activate in hosts, who were not following the no.6 rules. Pretty easy to annihilate the miscreants of the society, which can still apply but seems far fetched now because this public display of weirdness can’t be taken lightly by the citizens but can they even do anything?

    I don’t think Nezumi’s hatred towards no.6 is going to be simple. I smell history here and he knows more than he lets on. I’m curious to know what path this would take but whatever it might be, I’m hooked till the end.

    • I did think the initial, “Why do you hate No. 6 so much?” question was kind of silly, even though I’m with you in thinking there’s something deeper to Nezumi’s hatred. I mean, the government agents were trying to kill the guy and all. That’s reason enough to hate the city lol

  2. Lol, I really don’t get your thought process sometimes; a scalpel to the back of the neck is cringe worthy, but the eye-gouging scene from Deadman Wonderland was funny. No matter how camp that show was, I know which I would prefer watching/being done to me a thousand times over. To each their own I suppose.

    Anyway, this is a great series so far. I was also expecting the bees to be part of some sort of government conspiracy, but the more I watch the more far-fetched that seems. It seems more plausible that they’re simply some sort of bi-product from the post-apocalyptic wasteland. Hopefully, I’m wrong though, it just wouldn’t be a dystopian without some sort of plan to randomly kill its own citizens

    • 1) That scene was censored, and I was too busy lawling to be disgusted, and 2) I couldn’t take Deadman Wonderland seriously enough to cringe at its violence, and it wasn’t superviolent enough to make up for that (partially due to the censorship).

  3. Mad Chemist Says:

    I assumed the bees were a government conspiracy before I watched this episode, but Shion’s comments make me wonder if it couldn’t be a natural epidemic or something man made that’s going to get out of control come spring. He may be a social derp, but Shion’s a smart kid and he knows his bugs pretty well. It’s too early to tell what’s going on with the bees, but either way I can see the vaccine being an important plot element in helping to save a lot of lives or maybe challenge the authority of No. 6.

  4. To be honest, No. 6′s pretty stupid for executing all miscreants – I mean, without free thought, how could they advance scientifically? Who the fuck runs the place, anyways?

    That said, we could learn more about the other cities through Safu, who’s studying abroad at another city.

    The ‘rotten core’ part might just be in the people of No. 6′s thought processes. I’m not sure how they’re rotten, as they seem to be the nicest, most selfless, and most intelligent people out there, but eh.

    • I guess they probably provide the appearance of free thought (like in schools or whatever) as best they can without actually allowing it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

