Hunter x Hunter 4 – Man-Faced Ape lol

I had the same reaction when I watched the original Hunter x Hunter. There’s no fucking way Leorio is a teenager. He dresses way too fancy. And he has a suitcase! He has to be in his mid-20s, at least. Where’s his birth certificate? Can he verify his age?

Anyway, while I’m trying my best not to compare this series to the original, I can’t help but think that I enjoyed the conceit behind the reveal of Leorio’s past more in the first series. Basically, this is where it’s revealed that Tonpa is an utter douche: He leads Leorio in another direction, and there’s some hallucinogenic sap or whatever at the end of the path that Tonpa uses to paralyze Leorio. And from there, Leorio fights against his past and doubts coming up to haunt him, and he strengthens his resolve to become a Hunter and help the impoverished.

It’s not an entirely original story development, mind (loads of anime characters have had similar internal conflicts within dreams or hallucinations or whatever), but it works well because it’s handled smoothly and fits the tone the original series establishes from the get-go. It feels much more intense, too, than Leorio accidentally letting a bit of his past slipping and then telling the rest of it to Kurapika. From his actions, you can tell that Leorio is much more honorable than he lets on, but that hallucination is the first real peek the audience gets at what truly drives Leorio. Again, I wasn’t a huge fan of Hunter x Hunter‘s beginning, but that’s one of the parts I really did enjoy.

Also, shirtless Leorio running around like a goofball lol.

Pictured: Massive douche.

I always wondered how Tonpa’s fat ass managed to finish the first part of the Hunter Exam. (Spoiler alert: He hasn’t failed!) I guess if you’re fat but still get out of the house, then you’re OK — Tonpa clearly gets out a decent amount, because he has a solid tan going. But if you’re some fat fucking otaku who’s stuck to his laptop all day on the Twitter and the YouTube and whatnot? Nope. You’re dead. Your dakimakuras and figures won’t save you now, tubby. Go back to ripping the latest Suite Precure episode minutes after it airs on TV. You are not wanted here!

But enough of that utter filler tangent. Everything else in this episode is more or less similar to the original series, down to Hisoka attempting to murder Satotz and the interloper for the lulz. I have to say I’ve laughed every time the little Spanish guitar interlude plays during Hisoka’s scenes. What is up with that? Haha. Is Hisoka going to dance the flamenco at some point? I bet he’d like to do that for Gon and Killua, the creep. I’d still like Daisuke Namikawa to sound a bit slimier as Hisoka, but we’re still not at the scenes where Hisoka turns the creep factor to 11, so whatever. Murdering people with cards is the least of the things Hisoka does.

And once again, I am without an ending, so more of Hisoka’s glowing crotch for you dear readers!

15 Responses to “Hunter x Hunter 4 – Man-Faced Ape lol”

  1. Anna Ki Says:

    I feel like Hisoka’s more interested in Gon than in Killua, for some reason. Probably because Gon has more “potential” than Killua has, even though Killua has more training at this point. Eh, it’s deliciously creepy regardless.

    And d’awww, Hisoka’s glowing crotch <3 That's one of the more unforgettable frames from the manga. When I first read it I was just a little kid, so it took me a while to realize exactly why those glowing lines were emanating from that particular region of his body. Oh Hisoka. HunterXHunter just wouldn't be the same without your pedophiliac creepiness.

    Re: Age

    Strangely enough, while Leorio still looks like an old geezer, Gon and Killua somehow look younger than they were in the first anime series. Maybe it's just me.

    • Yeah, I always got the feeling that Hisoka is more interested in Gon, too. It’s that main character power!

      I think Gon looks around the same age, but I could see Killua looking a bit younger.

    • Mythical Gloss Says:

      I think it has more to do with Illumi than anything else. I’m pretty sure he likes them both. He just going after the one’s that easier access at the moment.

      • Like, “You’re my colleague and somebody that I actually respect, so I’m not going to go after your little brother”, kind of thing?

        He went to all that trouble to get to Kuroro, so I feel like if he really wants somebody, he’s going to do it no matter how hard it is.

        • Yeah, I think so, too. And at least in the first series of anime, it’s often brought up that Gon has more potential than Killua.

  2. Where did we see Hisoka’s glowing crotch in the manga? :o

  3. mango Says:

    I also thought that Leorio’s past was done better in the first series. It follows the principle of “show don’t tell” and so ends up being more interesting and having a lot more emotion attached to it. It seemed kind of off for him to simply just talk about it here.

  4. I dunno, I prefer the understated Leorio past reveal of the new one. He only opens up slightly out of respect for Kurapika telling him the truth, so it’s a great moment of bonding. That small flashback was enough to show he’s had a tough life – that’s probably why he looks mature beyond his years! Nothing to do with Togashi’s drawing abilities!

    • Different strokes, I guess. I like the visceral feel of the flashback in the first series. Feels like Leorio really is coming to terms with his demons — that extra kick he needs to persevere in the Hunter Exam.

    • Anna Ki Says:

      I feel like each approach has its own merits. The brief reaction is good for realism; it’s a nice, understated approach. Whereas the longer flashback fleshes out the emotions more and gives it more impact (also, HoYay!). I guess it depends on your taste. I like the briefer version better, but that’s probably cause I read the manga first, haha…

      And hey, don’t knock Togashi’s drawing abilities! (The scribbles are obviously done by his pet hamster, so that doesn’t count.)

  5. There’s no fucking way Leorio is a teenager. He dresses way too fancy

    I’d just assumed that he was a fucking hipster wannabe. If Leorio lived in our world, he’d have probably been a Mod; driving around on a vespa, in a purple suit with pink handkerchiefs sticking out of the pockets. It is his destiny!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

