Sister Princess Saturday Report! No. 9 – Pool Cleaning for the Elder Gods

Wataru’s latest notes concern a lazy summer day spent in the backyard of the island home he shared with the Sisters. However, because Wataru is such a dullard and a disappointment, his notes regarding the day are shockingly vague. This tells me that something of note must have happened on that day, because otherwise Wataru would have focused on some dull activity like walking through a shopping center or taking a stroll along the beach. It is regrettable that his mind was so easily focused on the mundane.

After rummaging through the spare notes kept by the other Sisters, I happened upon a few scribbles left by Karen, Hinako and Chikage. They are not much, but combined they may shed some light on the events of that summer day.

Karen’s notes

There is no rest for the weary. I thought we would be enjoying a light day bereft of brushes with the occult, but the Sister Princess had other plans. We were outside eating somen out of a ridiculous invention Rinrin concocted when I received a mental message from the Sister Princess. I feigned a poker face as best I could, but I think Sakuya noticed the miniscule change in my demeanor before I recovered. The Sister Princess talked as I ate the somen.

“Karen, I have an important task for you and the Sisters,” she said. “There is a pool near your home. I wish for you and your Sisters to clean it. You may bring the sacrifice to help if you wish. Something tells me he may not be much help here, however. He is weak.”

My eyebrow twitched almost imperceptibly. Again, I believe Sakuya noticed, but she made no sign that betrayed her thoughts. She’s always been annoyingly stealthy about her true intentions. I wasn’t sure why the Sister Princess wanted us to clean a mere pool, but I did not question her task, because the word of the Sister Princess is law. Once we finished eating, I stood up and Sakuya approached me.

“Yes?” I asked.

“How is everything?” Sakuya asked. It could have been a polite question, or a way to dig into the orders the Sister Princess gave me. I hate her.

“The Goddess gave us a task,” I said. “We are to clean the pool nearest our home.”

“That’s it?” Sakuya asked. “That seems . . . odd. She doesn’t usually have us do manual labor. That’s what the commoners are for.”

I also thought it strange but didn’t want to question the Sister Princess’ orders out loud. There was no way to know if she might have been listening. Of course, Sakuya is brash enough to not care about such things.

“Gather the other Sisters,” I said. “And bring the sacrifice along with you. Don’t tell them what we are doing just yet. Pretend we’re going to do something . . . fun.”

(Narrator’s note: It is here that Karen’s notes for the day cut off. She may have become too busy to update with her thoughts on the day afterward, or perhaps she just did not care enough to complete the story. Alas.)

Hinako’s notes

YAY YAY CLEANING THE POOL WITH BRO BRO, CLEANING THE POOL WITH BRO BRO.

SO SAKUYA TOLD US THAT WE HAD TO CLEAN THE POOL. THAT DIDN’T SOUND LIKE FUN SO I WANTED TO RUN AWAY, BUT SAKUYA SAID SHE WOULD PUT ME IN THE BOX IF I DIDN’T HELP OUT. I DON’T LIKE THE BOX, SO I HELPED OUT.

WE GOT TO THE POOL AND KAREN TOLD US WHERE TO GO AND GAVE US BROOMS AND STUFF. MAMORU WAS RUNNING AROUND AND YELLING WHILE SHE CLEANED SO I JOINED IN TOO. IT WAS FUN. I TRIED TO GET BRO BRO TO JOIN IN BUT HE WAS BEING A POOPY STUBBORN BRO BRO. WHAT A MEANIE HEAD.

ME AND KAHO PUSHED BRO BRO FROM BEHIND AND HE TUMBLED INTO THE POOL. IT WAS FUNNY.

WE GOT THE POOL ALL CLEAN EXCEPT FOR THIS ONE BROWN SPOT IN THE MIDDLE OF THE POOL. NO MATTER HOW HARD WE SCRUBBED THE DIRTY SPOT WOULDN’T GO AWAY. KAREN WAS GETTING REALLY MAD. IT WAS REALLY FUNNY. THEN CHIKAGE WALKED UP TO KAREN AND THEY TALKED A BIT. I DON’T KNOW WHAT SHE SAID, THOUGH. CHIKAGE MAKES MY HEAD HURT WHEN SHE TALKS. SHE SAYS A LOT OF BIG WORDS.

AFTER THAT CHIKAGE AND KAREN HAD US ALL STAND IN A CIRCLE AROUND THE DIRTY SPOT AND RAISE OUR BROOMS INTO THE AIR. I DON’T KNOW WHY. THEN THE SPOT STARTED GLOWING. IT WAS REALLY PRETTYFUL. THEN THERE WAS A LOUD BOOM AND STUFF AND SOME BIG PURPLE THING CAME OUT. IT WAS REALLY UGLY AND GROSS. WE ZAPPED IT AND IT WENT DEAD.

(Narrator’s note: That was . . . truly irritating. But, dear reader, if I had to suffer through that, then you too must also suffer.)

Chikage’s notes

Of course I knew all along the purpose of the pool cleaning. The cards never lie. I drew The Empress — she of untold power whose words are like steel. The tasks she sets forth must be completed without question. I drew The Devil afterward, and this told me a grave danger lurked in our task; that all was not as simple as it seemed. There was some hidden meaning behind the orders we received.

Justice — we arrived at the pool, ready to cleanse it of the evil aura that enveloped the area. I could not see it but sense it; the darkness pulsed through the air and made me shiver, so intense was the feeling. With brooms in hand, we set forth to clean. But we did not clean in a manner that befit our glorious mother. There was a spot remaining in the middle of the pool: A hub of evil and ill intent.

The Moon — it was up to me to reveal what was hidden to everyone else. I whispered in Karen’s ear that I could sense the evil lurking within the dark stain. She agreed with me, and we made to force it out into the open. We gathered our full strength and expelled it with all our might. The elder god let out a mighty roar and stretched its body, freed for the first time in many millennia.

Judgement — it was one of the Old Ones, but among the weaker set. It had been trapped but not defeated; however, lack of battle had dulled its will. Its skills were no longer sharp. We combined our powers once more not simply to banish but to destroy. We raised our brooms into the air, uttered our incantations and let loose our latent energy. The arrogant Old One took the power head on, but it underestimated our abilities. It writhed and shrieked, but the power did not let up, until it was but dust in the wind.

The Lovers — Wataru was of course highly impressed by my performance. I kept a cool head through the entire ordeal and directed everyone beautifully in a time of crisis. He did not contribute in any way, being a powerless sacrifice and all, but I was one step closer to winning his heart and gaining the powers the Sister Princess would bestow for personally delivering the sacrifice. Karen’s eyes were quite green after everything was finished, but it could not be helped. She simply does not measure up to me.

(Narrator’s note: I find myself slightly dubious regarding Chikage’s version of the events. She quite clearly wrote everything after the fact and twisted events to her will. She is, as some of you readers may so delicately put it, “full of shit.”)

7 Responses to “Sister Princess Saturday Report! No. 9 – Pool Cleaning for the Elder Gods”

  1. Derp, if I were any of them, I really wouldn’t have the time to meticulously jot down every detail of an event, even if it’s only one event in one day.

    Then again, I’m not any of them, and thus… wait, even they shouldn’t jot down notes so detailed.

    😦

  2. So painful… so damn painful. How do you watch this?

  3. Knee House Says:

    Positively Faulknerian.

Leave a Reply

