Sister Princess Saturday Report! No. 24 – The Beginning

Last time we left Akio, there was something coming out of his closet, but frankly, I find that dull, so we’ll skip that nonsense for now until it is more convenient for me.

Breakfast the next morning was not fun. The Sisters hardly ate anything; they spent the entire meal exchanging nervous glances with each other. Wataru was, of course, oblivious to the general vibe of the room and shoveled food down his gaping maw as usual. Akio, on the other hand, was well aware of the sense of unease his presence inspired in the Sisters. He gingerly ate his food with a smug grin on his face, glancing every so often at one of the Sisters and delighting in the reaction. I would admire this young man’s behavior if I didn’t find him to be such a distasteful individual.

As the Sisters cleaned up, Akio ambled over to Wataru’s seat and threw his arm over Wataru’s shoulder while taking a seat beside him.

“How are you doing this morning, Wataru?”Akio asked.

“I’m doing fine, Akio,” Wataru replied. “How about you?”

“Swell, swell. I couldn’t be better,” Akio said. “But . . . I sense something is off about you this morning.”

“Really?” Wataru asked. “I don’t feel any different than usual . . .”

“That’s the problem,” Akio said, snapping his fingers. “You don’t feel any different than usual. In fact, I’d say you’re stuck in a rut. You’ve become complacent.”

“I’m not sure what you’re saying,” Wataru said.

“Of course you don’t,” Akio said. “You’re mired in routine. You’re going through the motions. You’re so glued to doing the same thing day in and day out that you can’t realize when you need a change.”

“Umm . . . OK,” Wataru said. “What’s this about all of a sudden?”

“Oh, just throwing out idle conversation,” Akio said. “Also, I may have heard that your high school of choice may have incorrectly graded your entrance exam and just now realized its mistake.”

“Wait, what?!” Wataru said, whipping his head around and staring into Akio’s eyes.

“Just something a little birdie told me,” Akio said. “Though it may have taking a bit of prying to get that birdie to sing.”

“What do you mean by that?” Wataru asked.

“Nothing at all, Wataru,” Akio said, standing up. “Nothing at all. Just sit and think about what I’ve told you. We’ll talk again later.” Akio left the room while Wataru sat, deep in thought — or, at least, as deeply as he could possibly muster. Sakuya had been in the next room, around the corner, listening to the conversation. She did not like what she heard. Sakuya easily saw through Akio’s smooth talk, though anyone with an average IQ would be able to see through that sort of speak. She marched through the room, caught up to Akio and grabbed his arm.

“What do you think you’re doing?” Sakuya asked.

“Me?” Akio asked. “I’m not doing anything — just talking to a friend, that’s all. Do you have a problem with that?”

“I have a problem with you trying to take Wataru away from Promised Island,” Sakuya said.

“Who said I’m trying to do that?” Akio asked.

“Don’t play dumb with me,” Sakuya said. “I overheard your conversation. I know what you’re trying to do.”

“I’m simply presenting Wataru with another option, nothing more,” Akio said. “It’s his choice, after all. Now, if you’ll excuse me, I have something to do.” With that, Akio left and went upstairs to his room.

“Good to see you here,” Akio said after he entered his room.

“You did call me here, after all,” Mami said.

“Quite right,” Akio said. He sat down in front of his computer. “I’ve nudged Wataru in the direction of leaving, but I think he’ll need one more push before he’ll be convinced to give leaving a try. I want you to be that push.”

“Me?” Mami asked. “I’ve barely interacted with him at all the entire time I’ve been here.”

“So?” Akio asked. “Wataru is stupid and easily corrupted. He will listen to you.”

Admittedly, it is difficult to argue with Akio’s logic. How often have we seen Wataru engage in some idiotic activity without thinking beforehand? Need I bring up the swimming activity again? Much as I would like to indulge in that hilarious memory once more, I believe you get the point, so I shall skip it.

“So you want me to just talk to him?” Mami asked, after an uncomfortable silence in the narrative.

“Yes, that’s all,” Akio said. “Just give him another person who thinks going away from the island is a good idea. He’ll listen because his brain won’t be able to process anything else. Even if the Sisters attempt to convince him otherwise, Wataru’s brain will be so overloaded with information that he will go for the easier option.”

“I see,” Mami said. “After I do this, will I be done with the assignment, free to go?”

“I give you my word,” Akio said.

“I don’t know how much I trust that, but I suppose I have no choice,” Mami said, sighing. She got up and walked out of the room and downstairs. Wataru was still sitting at the table, shallow in thought. Mami sat down beside him and poked him in the ribs.

“What’s going on, bud?” she asked.

“Oh, nothing much,” Wataru said. “Just thinking a bit . . . Akio told me that the school I wanted to go to made a mistake, and that I could get into the school now if I wanted. But I’d have to leave Promised Island . . .”

“Well, you wanted to go to that school before you came to Promised Island, right?” Mami asked. “You should follow your heart, Wataru.”

“You’re right!” Wataru said, standing up suddenly and slamming his hands against the table. “I’m going to school!” He ran out of the room and out of the house.

“Wow, that was easy,” Mami said.

“What did you do?!” Sakuya said, running into the room.

“I didn’t do anything!” Mami said. “I was just giving him a bit of advice!”

“You idiot!” Sakuya said, slapping Mami. “We’ve tolerated your existence here because you haven’t done anything, but you’re lucky I need to chase after Wataru; otherwise, you would be dead right now. Come on, girls! We have to catch up with him!” The Sisters all joined with Sakuya and ran out of the house. After a few beats, Mami sighed and followed them.

The sun shone bright outside as Wataru ran to the docks, ready to take the first boat off Promised Island. Why could he now take a boat off the island, whereas before boats were not an available option? Dear me, I must have lost the notes relating to that bit of logic . . . most peculiar . . .

Anyway, Wataru finally reached the docks and bent over to catch his breath. He wheezed and puffed like an out-of-shape cop hightailing to the donut shop for the buy two get one free special. Wataru walked to the edge of the dock and sat and waited. He didn’t think this through very much — not only did he not know the schedule of the ferry, but he also did not take any luggage with him. Did Wataru think he would be wearing the same clothes for an entire year? He is an idiot, and he also has terrible hygiene.

Because of his terrible time miscalculation, the Sisters caught up with Wataru easily.

“Where are you going, Dear Brother?” Sakuya asked, clasping her hands together.

“I’m going to school!” Wataru said.

“But there’s a school here,” Karen said.

“I’m going to land school, not island school!” Wataru said.

“But the school here is better,” Haruka said.

“Nuh uh!” Wataru said, turning around and facing the sea. The Sisters looked at each other in confusion.

“You heard the man, ladies!” Akio said, leaping out of the ocean. For some reason, he was totally dry when he landed on the dock. I must admit, it takes some style to pull that off. It makes me hate him even more.

“You!” Karen said. “You’re responsible for this!”

“That’s right,” Akio said, smiling cruelly. He walked backward toward Wataru as he spoke. “And now that Wataru has turned his back on you, my plan can finally begin!”

Akio snapped his fingers, and the ground immediately began to rumble. A crucifix plunged from under the sea and struck Wataru. Ropes materialized and wrapped themselves around his arms and legs. Then the crucifix slowly straightened itself out and turned Wataru toward the sun.

“Wh-wh-what’s going on?!” Wataru screamed.

“Did you really believe any school would accept you?” Akio asked. “All I needed was for you to desire to leave the Sisters, and you would be mine, Dear Wataru. Now I can sacrifice you and claim the power of the Sister Princess for my own!”

“Over my dead body!” Sakuya shouted. She reached into her pocket, pulled out a throwing knife and tossed it at Akio. Before it could reach him, though, another knife came from a different direction and hit Sakuya’s knife. A stranger landed beside Akio — the person’s face was obscured by the sun’s light.

“Who is that?” Karen asked.

“Oh, I do believe you’ll find this person familiar,” Akio said. “Show yourself!”

The stranger obliged and stepped forward. Her face was heavily scarred, and she wore an evil grimace on her face, but there was no mistaking the presence of the first Sister to be murdered — Kaho.

“What?!” Karen said. “But she’s dead! That’s totally unfair and lame!”

“It’s only lame if you care about the story,” Akio said. “She’s on my side now!”

If I could insert dramatic plot twist music into this written work, I would do so here. But I cannot, so it would do you well to imagine that that is how this chapter of our delirious tale ended rather than this anticlimactic short paragraph. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

