Kimi ni Todoke 33 – Miss Kuronuma, Tear Down that (Flimsy) Wall

I thought the aluminum can wall a rather appropriate metaphor for the wall between Kazehaya and Sawako: It’s hollow, malleable and easily kicked aside by anyone with the intelligence and will of a small child. So I am glad Sawako has decided to graduate to the status of small child.

In all seriousness, though, even my bitter heart could get behind the ending of this episode. As I’ve written in the past, I think Kimi ni Todoke is at its best when Sawako triumphs over the social paranoia that keeps her back, and not when it puts her through a needless emotional wringer. Sawako’s “FUCK THIS SHIT” moment is great, and something that had me cheering despite my feelings about the most recent episodes. She’s finally doing something for herself instead of kowtowing to people’s imaginary feelings. Good for her.

Now it just remains for Kazehaya to snap out of his dumbassery, but I think the shock of seeing Sawako being direct and honest with him will be enough to get him out of mopey mope self-pitying mode. More so if Sawako does what she needs to do, which is to tell Kazehaya exactly what she thought to herself. His biggest problem is that he thinks he does not live up to Sawako’s image of him. He’s not a perfect goody two-shoes; he’s a regular kid with his own flaws, but that’s how Sawako thinks of him and likes him now. That’s what she needs to make apparent to Kazehaya, or else he’ll just end up waffling more over stupid, plot-extending bullshit.

. . . Hm, we have four episodes remaining, don’t we? Damn it. I’ve got a bad feeling about this . . .

In other news, lolwut at the musical montage in the middle of the episode. Someone needed a time filler! And, hey, way to suggest the passage of time and events happening without having to put any effort into it! Yeah! Seriously, though, that was random. I just can’t take musical montages seriously — I like mine big and ridiculous. (Like, you know, every ’80s movie montage ever. Now that’s how you montage!) At least Chizuru got a nice-sized birthday party, I guess, and a present from Ryu. Come on, OTP that shit already!

Also, Kent talked with Sawako a bit and kind of fucked up and kind of didn’t, as is his wont. I almost had a heart attack when he first went on his spiel about how he was wrong regarding how he perceived Sawako and Kazehaya’s relationship, and Sawako latched onto how Kent thought Sawako and Kazehaya had a wall between them and then she phased out.

“NOT ANOTHER GOD DAMN MISUNDERSTANDING!” I shouted, but thankfully, this was the push Sawako needed to leap headlong into “OH HELL NO” moment. Still, Kent, ol’ buddy, ol’ pal, don’t scare me like that ever again. You’ve done your part; now just stand on the sidelines like a good boy. Or maybe provide some entertainment by interacting with others, I don’t know. Do something aside from fucking things up, dig?

P.S. How many viewing experiences did I ruin with my “EVERYONE LOOKS LIKE DINOSAURS” observation? This makes me far too happy. I’m sorry.

P.P.S. No, I’m not.

4 Responses to “Kimi ni Todoke 33 – Miss Kuronuma, Tear Down that (Flimsy) Wall”

  1. Hmm, I stalled/dropped around 19, but the idea that everyone now thinks everyone looks like dinosaurs is insanely funny to me.

  2. So yeah. This episode was a rollercoaster for me. I started out making a crying sound whenever Kazehaya opened his mouth, then I was like wtf musical montage, later I was like “I would totally dig this show if it was nothing but musical montages”, then I was like “where is Yano and why isn’t she putting a bullet in Kento”, then I was like FINALLY!, then i was like fuck there’s no way. Fool me once Kimi ni Todoke, shame on you. Fool me twice, shame on me. Fool me 34 times…Go fuck yourself.

Leave a comment